Homemade Clove Deodorant

When my husband, Mike, and I discovered just how bad regular deodorant is, we decided to switch to all natural deodorant.  This was easier said than done.  In the beginning we tried all kinds of natural deodorants sold in stores- none of them worked very well for us.  Some would work for just a couple hours and some not at all.  We ended up stinking sometimes- which is never cool.  Mike’s determination, made me stick it out.  He simply refused to use deodorant that was toxic.  Eventually I figured out how to make my own and guess what?…it worked!

A little background:

Anti-perspirant deodorant contains aluminum chlorhydrate, a salt that reduces perspiration.  It reduces sweating, which sounds good right?  Not exactly.  Aluminum is absorbed through the skin and has been linked to brain disorders, including Alzheimer’s.  What about the new aluminum free anti-perspirants on the market now, are they okay?  No, the body uses your sweat glands as one of it’s major detoxification pathways.  If you inhibit its ability to detoxify, you are setting yourself up for chronic disease.

Clove Deodorant Recipe~ 

This recipe uses the natural antibacterial and antifungal properties of coconut oil.  Coconut oil is moisturizing and does not block pores.  I try not to put anything on my skin, that I could not eat- coconut oil definitely passes the test.   Cloves are a very healing food.  They also contain powerful antifungal, anitibacterial and antiviral properties.

5-6 T virgin, unrefined coconut oil

6 T baking soda

1/2 cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder

5 drops tea tree oil (optional)

either: 30 drops clove essential oil or 4 droppers full clove extract

- Warm coconut oil in double boiler until barely melted (we want to keep all the powerful constituents in the coconut oil by keeping it raw).

- Remove from heat.  Add baking soda and cornstarch/arrowroot.  Stir into a paste.  Add oils/extracts.

- Pour into appropriately sized jar (approx 8 oz).  It will solidify and form into a putty like texture.

UPDATE 12/11:  In my rush to get the post out, I forgot to test my recipe I had written down.  I often make things by feel and forget to update the recipe in my notes.  I made a new batch today and updated the baking soda and starch amounts.  I made today’s deodorant with tapioca starch (because that’s what we had) and eucalyptus, tea tree and bergamot oils.  It should be like a soft paste (a little more liquidy than play-doh while still warm).  So don’t be surprised if it is too liquidy, obviously it will harden when it cools, but you may need to add more cornstarch to get it just right. The first few times I made it, I remelted everything together and added more arrowroot/cornstarch to get to the desired consistency.  So when you do discover exactly what works for you, take a tip from me and write it down :)

There are so many possibilities to play with as far as essential oils go.  I prefer clove, but if you have something else on hand feel free to use it.  Lavender, orange, bergamot, tea tree and rosemary are all possibilities.

Please note: The melting point of coconut oil is around 78 degrees, so be mindful of that when storing it.  I have kept one jar in the car for months (for those times I forget about deodorant before leaving the house).  On hot summer days it melts and in the winter it gets really hard.  It still works well, despite all the temperature fluctuations.

You may have an adjustment period, while your body gets used to being able to detoxify.

Thanks for reading.  Let me know what you think!

Megan

10 comments

  1. hobby baker

    I’ve been pretty happy with the recipe I tried, which is very similar to yours. I think I used tea tree, eucalyptus, and some lavender/sweet orange oil. I like the idea of the clove oil though. Cuts some of the medicinal smell from the tea tree. One thing I will try next time is adding a little beeswax to help keep it firm enough. Maybe a teaspoon or two, no more than I would use for a lip balm. Another tip I heard from someone who is sensitive to the baking soda is that they had just as good results using bentonite or green clay in place of the soda. I have been loving my homemade cleaners too, you’re right, it’s nice to be able to look forward to cleaning instead of dreading it. Do you have the book, Clean House, Clean Planet? It’s got loads of great recipes and so far I am loving them.

  2. amandislambis

    I love clove…think I might try this with lemon or grapefruit oils as well…I love citris, it’s so refreshing!!

  3. Lee Knott

    We have been using this for three weeks and has been so lovely! We didn’t have tea tree oil, but it still seems to work well. We will never go back to anything else!

  4. Pingback: Does the thought of being healthy sound too expensive? « Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Healthiness
  5. Pingback: Is eating healthy too expensive? |

Leave a Reply

